auto theft investigator of the year

sfpd stained glass closeup

As stated by former San Francisco Police Inspector Dave Roccaforte, now a NICB Special Agent:

Al was a long time Auto Theft Investigator with the San Francisco Police Department, a member of WSATI (he may even have been around at the very beginning) and IAATI. 

He was the inspector (detective) who reviewed and presented my very first vehicle theft arrest back in 1971.  We hit it off then and he taught me all of the basics and most of the advanced stuff (probably because I kept bugging him to learn more and more).  He was one of the old school investigators, not afraid to get in there and get his hands dirty to do an identification or to work a case.  At the same time, he was very unassuming and quiet in his ways, but a deadly foe to the bad guys.

Al passed away back in 1988.  He took the train to work every morning.  One morning, he had a severe stroke while on the train and never came out of the coma.

To this day, when I am successful in a case involving a VIN-switch or difficult identification, I think of him and am glad for all that he taught me. I considered it an overwhelming honor when WSATI presented me with the 1991 Al Weatherman Award.




2013 Investigator Kelly Lindholm California Highway Patrol
2012 Investigator Andy Cosgrove California Highway Patrol
2011 Lieutenant Chris Costigan California Highway Patrol
2010 Sergeant Jim Alexander California Highway Patrol (ACRATT)
2010 DDA James “JC” Weydert  San Joaquin County District Attorney’s Office
2009 Tina Johnson California State Automobile Association SIU
2009 Connie Weiman Delta Regional Auto Theft TaskForce (RATT)
2008 Anthony “Tony” Corroo California State Automobile Association SIU
2007 Steve Temple California Highway Patrol
2006 Cliff Gray Hertz Corporation
2006 Greg Williams California Highway Patrol
2005 Dave Prescott California State Automobile Association SIU
2004 Ken Hutchison National Insurance Crime Bureau
2003 John Furrow Zurich Insurance
2002 James Lamberto California State Automobile Association SIU
2001 Mike Miller National Insurance Crime Bureau
2000 Len Silva California Highway Patrol
1999 Steve Kowalewski California Highway Patrol
1998 Gary Gray Richmond Police Department
1997 Dennis Kalis California Highway Patrol
1991 Dave Roccaforte San Francisco Police



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *